Hey, I Remember You

So I signed back up for Blockbuster OnLine. But I refuse to get involved in the unwinnable race inherent in this DVD-by-mail deal. So I’m getting one at a time, limit of two per month. But with Blockbuster’s stupid Total Access thing, it ends up being five movies a month. So that still may end up being a little too much. But it’s seems like a pretty good idea right now.

First up was a movie that when I had this service previously sat for months at the top of my queue with the flimsy excuse that there was a “Very Long Wait” for it: Unknown White Male.

So a guy (Doug Bruce) wakes up on the subway and doesn’t know where he is. Then he realizes he doesn’t know who he is. And so he gets committed and has to try and get someone to come down and identify him. But all he has is a the phone number of a woman who doesn’t know anyone with a British accent. Which by the way, he has.

Oh, yeah. This is a documentary.

Ridiculous. But unfortunately, it’s not about this amnesiatic trying to reclaim his identity. He finds out who he is pretty quickly. Which is initially disappointing. But he still doesn’t know who he is or remember anything about his life. So he has to be reindoctrinated to his friends, his family, even food. It’s pretty fascinating to watch somebody watch video of himself for what amounts to the first time. There’s a lot of metaphor with this guy’s own photography which he’d made a career of doing before whatever happened to him happened to him (which is never explained, or at least, it’s explained that it cannot be explained) that seems sort of manufactured, but the basic prinicple of asking who this person is if he can’t remember anything about what makes him who he is survives that sort of thing effortlessly.

I’m not sure this could be considered an endorsement, but I found myself thinking about a lot of other things while watching this movie. That probably was not the intent. But I didn’t mind. I still don’t know if I missed anything. It doesn’t feel like it. But maybe I’m just not supposed to remember.

Leave a Reply

